Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Ice: Draft release

The official team release from the Indiana Ice regarding the 2013 USHL Draft.


INDIANAPOLIS—The Indiana Ice capitalized on five first-round draft picks and six of the first 20 selections to reload the squad for the 2013-2014 season and beyond.  Indy had 28 total picks in the seven-hour event, acquiring 18 forwards, five defensemen and five goaltenders.
The Ice selected forward Aiden Muir from the Victory Honda (MI) program with the first overall pick.  Muir recorded 40 points (17G, 23A) in 37 games with Victory Honda while earning a scholarship to Western Michigan University.  He is also listed as the 108th ranked skater on the Final Scouting Rankings for the 2013 NHL Draft on June 30.
Back-to-back picks with the sixth and seventh selections saw Indy pick up Brian Pinho (St. John’s Prep-MA) and Scott Conway (Texas-NAHL) to further boost the Ice offense.  Pinho immediately follows Muir on the Central Scouting list at the 109th spot while Conway was the top-scoring 1995 forward for the Tornado with 54 points (18G, 36A).
Indy rounded out their first group of picks with Brett Beauvais (Kalamazoo-NAHL), a 6-0 defenseman from Summerside, P.E.I. and Jason Pawloski (Austin-NAHL), a 6-0 goaltender from Omaha, NE.  Beauvais finished the season tied for fourth among NAHL blueliners in assists (27) while Pawloski recorded 17 wins and two shutouts in 24 contests.  The Ice also had some local flavor as the Ice selected captain Joe Chitwood from the Indiana Jr. Ice U18 program.
“I thought the draft went extremely well for the Indiana Ice,” said head coach and general manager Jeff Brown.  “We’re excited about the players we were able to acquire and we can’t wait for camp and the next hockey season.  It’s going to be a very competitive.  The talent level is extremely good and we hope to turn things around next season.”
Aiden Muir-F, Victory Honda U18
Brian Pinho-F, St. John’s Prep (MA)
Scott Conway-F, Texas (NAHL)
Brett Beauvais-D, Kalamazoo (NAHL)
Jason Pawloski-G, Austin (NAHL)
Tyler Andrew-F, Topeka (NAHL)
Jacob Pritchard-F, Victory Honda U18
Timothy Shoup-D, Pittsburgh Penguins U18
Samu Perhonen-G, Akatemia (Finland)
Karl El-Mir-F, Selects Academy U16
Nick Kunin-F, St. Louis Blues U18
Roy Radke-F, Culver U16
Michael Ederer-F, Nichols School (NY)
Christopher Forney-D, Thief River Falls (MN)
Nathan Churchill-G, Omaha AAA U16
Alex Alger-F, Cranbrook (MI)
Nick Azar-D, Belle Tire U16
Vaughan Ahrens-G, Wayzata (MN)
Ryan Collins-C, Ottawa (CCHL)
Michael Turner-F, Cushing (MA)
Tyler Boston-C, York Simcoe Express
Tyler Augustinsen-F, Selects Academy U16
Joe Chitwood-F, Indiana Jr. Ice U18
Andrew Debrincat-D, Cumberland (CCHL)
Mitch Slattery-F, Hill Murray (MN)
Drew Best-F, South Surrey (BCHL)
Nick Vilardo-G, WBS Knights
Logan Brown-F, St. Louis Blues 98’s
The Indiana Ice is now taking deposits for 2013-2014 season ticket packages.  Call the Ice office at 317-925-4423 or visit
The Indiana Ice is a member of the United States Hockey League, America’s only Tier One League.

No comments:

Post a Comment